JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps. To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.

Main Menu

BOD - Hero Image


Capital Metro is led by an eight-member Board of Directors appointed by various governing entities within the service area. Capital Metro’s president/CEO is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the agency and reports to the Board.

Visit our Board Meeting section to find out about upcoming meetings, and to learn more about how you can get involved.

Sub Navigation

Linda S. Watson, President and CEO

Bio Photo - Linda Watson

Linda S. Watson is the president/chief executive officer of the Capital Metropolitan Transportation Authority in Austin, Texas. She has more than 25 years of transportation related experience in Orlando, Corpus Christi, and Fort Worth. 

When Watson arrived at Capital Metro in August 2010, she set a high bar for service, oversight and accountability. With new leadership, a new vision and a new direction, Capital Metro has transformed into a more transparent, accountable and financially sustainable organization that is trusted and valued by the community.

Capital Metro was the first transit system in Texas to earn the state comptroller’s highest level recognition for online financial transparency. As Watson likes to say, “You can see every dollar we spend online.”

Austin area commuters have embraced the MetroRail commuter line with ridership that has more than quadrupled. Capital Metro continues leading the way with new transportation solutions, like MetroRapid, launched in 2014. New options are also on the way with system-wide real time arrival information and the expansion of a frequent service network in high-use corridors, launching later in 2015.    

Before coming to Capital Metro, Watson was the chief executive officer of LYNX, the Central Florida Regional Transportation Authority in Orlando. She also previously served as the general manager of the Corpus Christi Regional Transportation Authority and was the assistant general manager of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority.

 Watson serves on the board of several organizations including:

  • Circuit of the Americas Events Host Committee
  • Texas Transportation Institute (TTI) Advisory Council
  • Heart of Texas Chapter, Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS)
  • Downtown Austin Alliance
  • Innovation Corridor Board of Austin, TX

She is an alumna of Leadership Texas, Leadership Fort Worth, Leadership Corpus Christi and Leadership Orlando. She graduated from the University of Texas at Arlington with a B.A. in Political Science and an M.A. in Urban and Regional Affairs and was honored as a “Distinguished Alumni.”